Skip to content

the case of the mysterious disappearing blogger

December 15, 2010
tags: , ,

Those of you who actually follow my blog out there (all two of you..) may have noticed that I suddenly went entirely MIA about three weeks back, directly after mentioning the purchase of my new camera lens and finalization of upcoming travel plans. The clever ones among you may have put two and two together and realized what happened, but the less observant blog readers may have been confused at my sudden and extended absence.

As I mentioned previously, in mid-November my sister unexpectedly gave birth to her first baby 5.5 weeks prior to his expected delivery date. He came out small but healthy, and in possession of all his toes and fingers, but sent Eric and I into a bit of a panic with regards to travel plans.

We had been having trouble finding dates that worked for both of us to travel home to meet both my new nephew and the latest addition to Eric’s small swarm of nephews and niece. Mid-December or early January both seemed to pose similar drawbacks in regards to pricing and vacation length, and as a result we were drawing dangerously close to the holidays with no solid plans.

The early arrival of my nephew introduced a new and even crazier option that we hadn’t had before: travel home right away and bypass the hard choice between December and January entirely.

There were of course negative aspects to these dates as well (not the least of which was scrambling to get out of the country on just a week’s notice!), but in the end we had to admit that it seemed to be the best possible option for us– not to mention that once my parents and brother got wind of the possibility of us landing on Thanksgiving morning they lobbied hard in favor of the plan.

So on November 25th, after several long and busy days of getting our affairs in order, we set off for the states. We went through several major unexpected and stressful bumps along the way, but arrived at SFO tired and appropriately thankful at 9 am on Thanksgiving morning.

Although our time back home ended mid-last week, we turned around after just a day back in Japan to head off on a previously finalized weekend in Hong Kong. Thus we did not officially arrive back in Tokyo until our plane landed at Narita International Airport at 6 am Monday morning of this week.

Our triumphant though thoroughly exhausted faces upon our return to Tokyo..

It was a whirlwind of a 2.5 week trip in which we clocked more than 40 hours of plane time alone, not to mention trains, cars, and airport napping; and although it was fully my intention to blog during the trip, our schedule was tight, and ultimately time with our family and friends won out over photo processing, writing, and editing of detailed reports of what we were up to.

I am currently facing an intimidating number of pictures and events to sift through and organize before I can actually get around to blogging about the trip, and thing are likely to remain a little crazy in our lives through the end of the year, so bear with me if I am slow in getting new content and updates posted.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2010 8:29 am

    Wow, 40 hours of plane time kind of gives me the shivers. お疲れ!

    • December 17, 2010 4:38 pm

      And the plane time was the least of our worries! >_<

  2. January 23, 2011 1:19 am

    Hey where are you? Starting to wonder if you are ok. Miss your posts.

    • January 25, 2011 4:04 pm

      I’m still right here and okay! :D

      I’ve had a busy couple of months and decided that trying to force a blog post before I’ve got my head back in the game would just take the fun out of it for me, and I really don’t want that to happen. I’ve got myself a self-imposed deadline of getting things rolling again before the end of the month, though.. so hopefully things will start moving around here soon. I have SO MUCH I’d like to write about!

      Thanks so much for your comment and nudge. It’s nice to feel missed! :D

Leave a Reply

