Skip to content

so we meet again…

October 26, 2010

I’ve been withholding some very important information from you. For that I apologize, and I have decided that it’s about time I come clean.

If you’ve read back on this blog a few weeks, you might remember a post I wrote on the topic of seasonality in Japan. In that post I touched on the love affair that Japanese society has with seasonal items and products, and explained that there is a constant stream of kikan gentei (limited time only) and kisetsu gentei (seasonal) products appearing on and disappearing from the conbini (convenience store) shelves throughout the year.

I also briefly mentioned my first harsh lesson in the concept of kisestsu gentei products coming from the discovery and subsequently loss of my first real Japanese favorite: matcha Meltykisses.

Last Monday on my way to work I stopped into my usual conbini to grab a liter of my preferred tea, still riding my post-race wave of euphoria. As I passed through the aisles on my way to the beverage area, I spotted it:

If you follow me on twitter you may recognize the above picture, which I tweeted immediately along with an incoherent string of babble (which, apparently Eric was able to accurately decipher before even looking at the attached picture).

I think I may have actually squealed out loud, but I can’t remember very clearly, as the next thing I knew I was at the counter, box in hand, fumbling for my change purse.

This is only the third time in my five years of living in Tokyo that matcha Meltykisses have been available, with the last occasion being the winter of 2007-2008, if I recall correctly.

I arrived at work loudly and with much fanfare, tore into the box, and distributed them among my shell-shocked co-workers.


Since last Monday I have purchased an astounding FIVE boxes. This from the girl who almost never buys anything but drinks, hard-boiled eggs, and the occasional Haagen-Dazs from convenience stores.

To my credit, I have not finished all five boxes. One is still sitting opened on my desk and home, and the other in my desk drawer at work. I have also been sharing the love with my co-workers, friends, and Eric. Even so, I estimate that I have probably put away around 2-3 boxes worth of those by myself, and have not so much as touched anything in my gourmet chocolate stash since stumbling across that first box a week and a half ago.

Do not bite into them as on the left. The correct way to eat a matcha Meltykiss is to place it on the tongue, and then smash it gently against the roof of your mouth to help it melt and break apart. Pure. Bliss.

I have also suffered a few humiliating, though highly amusing Meltykiss eating fails. Such at the one captured in the unlikely photo below:

I’ll leave you to ponder how that happened on your own for a bit. Just be secure in the fact that I did not let it go to waste after taking that photo.

If past experience is to be trusted, these will remain in the stores until around February of next year. Which means I have at least 3 months to get my fill before saying goodbye for another 2-3 years. It is possible that I might tire of eating them, or slow down as the weeks turn into months.. but for now I think it’s safe to say that I have a bit of a problem on my hands.


Is there a sweet or food that you seem to be powerless against? How many boxes do you think I can get through before going into complete sugar shock?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rich permalink
    October 28, 2010 9:32 pm

    For me, those meltykisses had me in their power for a while. But my frustration over the seasonality was enough to get me off of them.
    The one candy that seems to disappear as soon as I get a box is Andes Thin Mints… I have eaten a whole box and not regretted it. Which is kind of sad.

    That trash can situation is a real mystery though.

Trackbacks

  1. the aftermath… (quake update) « finding balance in tokyo…

Leave a Reply

