Skip to content

saturday mornings & macarons

October 2, 2010

Over the last five years I have slipped into the position of being responsible for preparing most of our meals throughout the week. Considering my preoccupation with all things food, cooking, and nutrition, and given that I have more time between the two of us and contribute less financially, this arrangement makes a lot of sense and suits both of us just fine most of the time. But sometimes it’s nice to not have to worry about what to eat.. which is why I like Saturdays.

For the past year or so, we’ve fallen into the pattern of giving me Saturday morning off, and leaving breakfast (and sometimes dinner) in Eric’s hands. I’m not entirely sure how I managed to make it stick, but I’m pretty happy with the arrangement. Most weeks he will make us big veggie & cheese omelets with half a toasted bagel on the side, though sometimes we change it up and have scrambled or fried eggs instead. I insist on having fruit at breakfast, and usually end up in charge of preparing that while he cooks.

This morning was fairly typical of our routine: Eric whipped up some omelets stuffed with red onion, maitake mushroom, cherry tomatoes, and a mix of mozzarella and cottage cheese. Rather than our weekly bagel, he chose to toast up some of the leftover grain & nut bread on the side, and I topped mine with a thin layer of mascarpone. We’d planned on splitting a big pink grapefruit on the side, but found upon cutting it that the center had turned brown and ended up going with kiwi instead.

It was a very satisfying way to start the weekend.

We spent the morning hanging out at home catching up on doing nothing for a while, before heading over to Shibuya to run a few quick errands. Of course, nothing ever goes quite according to plan, and we ended up staying out much later than we’d originally expected navigating around through the department stores and whatnot. We were totally unsuccessful in finding a shelf for Eric’s music books, as we’d set out to do. But we did come home with some pantry items and a pair of uncharacteristically stylish silver shoes for him.

The highlight for me, though, was the stroke of pure luck that set us right in front of a Pierre Hermé counter just as we were starting to feel the first pangs of hunger. Perfect excuse to indulge in macarons!

We chose to split two flavors to tide us over until dinner time. I was fixated from the start on the seasonal Mahogany Macaron (right), which was described as a caramel macaron with mango puree and coconut. Eric chose an old favorite, the Mogador, which is a passionfruit macaron with milky chocolate ganache.

I’d have to say one of my favorite thing about living in Tokyo is having access to amazing things like Pierre Hermé that are just not available in the States, or really much of anywhere outside of Paris. Or Doughnut Plant, which only operates in New York and Tokyo. We get to experience a lot of fantastic brands just by virtue of living in this amazingly bizarre center of culture.

After finishing our macarons we headed back towards Shinjuku to pick up a few more grocery items and then made our way back towards home. My plan for dinner had been to use up some of the leftovers and veggies in the fridge to make room for the sample vegetable box we’re expecting from Tashita farm tomorrow morning, but by the time we got off the train it was already 8 pm, and we were both feeling a bit of a pull to scrap our plans and visit the new burger place down the block instead… but that will have to wait for another post.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2010 2:35 am

    I wish Eric would make my breakfast. His omelets look good. Mine tend to break when I try to fold them and then they ingeniously become scrambles! I totally MEANT to do that!

    I saw the shoes on Twitter….prettay snazzay…. ;)

    • October 4, 2010 2:06 am

      I’m still somewhat in shock that he’s been making ME breakfast regularly for so long. And on the weekend no less!

      I can’t decide what is more shocking to me, that or the shoes…..

Leave a Reply

